Hurrying at the end of the half

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
bg0296
Lulu

Hurrying at the end of the half

Post by bg0296 »

Hello everyone,
I am supposed to be a timekeeper for a local high school tournament next month. I'm really excited because it's my first time timekeeping and I am a former player in this tournament. I have one question, though. If a team is conferring on a bonus question with, say, 10 seconds left in a half, should I, as timekeeper, prompt the team to begin answering, alert the moderator to tell the team, or do nothing? My fear is that the match will be close and that this situation might decide a win or loss. Any advice? I figured being a timekeeper would be a great way to give back, especially since the tournament is held at the college I currently attend.
Brad Gandy
Tellico Plains High School (Tellico Plains, TN), Class of 2014
Hiwassee College (Madisonville, TN), Class of 2016
Maury Island incident
Wakka

Re: Hurrying at the end of the half

Post by Maury Island incident »

Assuming this is standard NAQT format, 10 seconds should be enough time for the team to answer and for you to start the last tossup-bonus cycle. The NAQT rules say a moderator should prompt at the end of a team's time to confer, but as far as I know, I don't think it's any kind of an issue if you are the one doing the prompting since you are in charge of timing.
Colin Cantwell
Lexington '17
UVA '21
Stained Diviner
Auron

Post by Stained Diviner »

For the entire match, you should try to make the time visible to both teams. A timekeeper should be seen only as much as necessary and not heard. Do not say anything.
David Reinstein
Head Writer and Editor for Scobol Solo, Masonics, and IESA; TD for Scobol Solo and Reinstein Varsity; IHSSBCA Board Member; IHSSBCA Chair (2004-2014); PACE President (2016-2018)
bg0296
Lulu

Post by bg0296 »