On Geography at ACF Nationals

Old college threads.
canaanbananarama
Wakka

On Geography at ACF Nationals

Post by canaanbananarama »

I haven't paid very much attention to these various threads and they seem to be an unproductive continuation of an ever-growing trend towards cutting geography out. I would like to point to three people, who as it so happens, are the current leaders of ACF: Matt, Seth, and Jerry. All three of you cringe at geography questions, the same way I cringe at every science tossup. Now, Jerry, I feel you. Geography isn't particularly important to your academic studies.

How this makes me feel as a proponent of ACF: You're basically cutting out 5 PPG of my scoring total at ACF Nationals. Since I average around 25 PPG, let's say this drops me to twenty, because the other options, social science, well, I don't know much about this.

But, Matt, you're a historian by trade or degree or whatever? In my opinion as a student of history, knowing history and hating geography is like trying to pleasure a woman with a two-inch cock. Did you just totally skip over the dozens of pages devoted in any serious work to the geography of the area and how it literally caused history to happen in the way that it happened. I sure remember classes where 10% of my grade involved a map quiz. Yes, respected academics were basing a large fraction of your grade on you sitting down and being able to point things out on a map. Why was Sparta Sparta? Athens Athens? Geography. I can know the Peloponnesian War chronologically by heart, which is a difficult task, but if I understand the geographic location of Sparta and Athens, I don't have to do that much work. Russian history is what it is because of geography. Russians are who they are because of geography. That we have to defend geography's place in academia is absurd. I, as a historian, do not necessarily like economics. But it's fundamentally very important to the general study of history, so by God, have econ questions.