New High School Team

New high school teams looking for advice should post here.
dzhuthethird
Kimahri

New High School Team

Post by dzhuthethird »

I'm a middle school student who has just moved over winter break. I played quizbowl for my middle school (Holmes Junior High) previously as well as Davis Senior High. I want to start a quizbowl team at my high school next year, but I'm not sure how. Any suggestions?
Daniel Zhu- Monte Vista High School '19
i never see pigeons in wheeling
Rikku

Re: New High School Team

Post by i never see pigeons in wheeling »

Hi Daniel,

I'm Ankit Aggarwal, and I help run the quiz bowl circuit in Northern California, including co-directing the California Cup tournaments at which I believe you competed with Davis. I also moderated at the tournament Holmes won in December. What high school are you going to attend? If it's in Northern CA, I could be of help, and if it's elsewhere, I can point you to the correct regional contacts.
Ankit
Cal '16
Bellarmine College Preparatory '12
teddybknox
Kimahri

Post by teddybknox »

Daniel,

Although our Quiz Bowl Club did not really start this year, it experienced its first year of real outreach, recruitment, and expansion. Last year, we were sending 1-2 teams made up of mostly just people from a group of friends that played. This year, through outreach and advertisement, we have built an active and diverse club, sending up to seven full teams at some tournament. We took a couple of important steps towards recruitment:

1. Registration booth
At DHS's class registration event, which happens a few days before school starts, clubs have the opportunity to set up a booth for recruitment. We came with some sample easy one-line questions, a bag of candy, and a sign-up sheet. We took down about 40 names and email addresses. Of those 40, about 20 came to the club's first few meetings, and about 10 have continued to play throughout the year.

2. Daily announcements