Studying Religion

This forum is for discussing tournament formats, question styles, strategy, and such.
quizbowlchamp1
Lulu

Studying Religion

Post by quizbowlchamp1 »

So I'm a generalist, but I'm not that good at religion. I was wondering if you guys know any good religion sources. If so, let me know. Thank you.
Russ McGlaughn
7th Grade
Rainbow Middle School (2022-present)
Southside High School (2023-present)
2023 MSNCT Rising Star
Alabama State Champion 2024
quizzical1
Lulu

Re: Studying Religion

Post by quizzical1 »

Try seeing summaries of some religions, like Bible or Koran (or Qu'ran), that might help. Also I consider searching up important religious figures. The religion's gods come up frequently, too.
Elliot L.
7th Grade
The Meadows School, NV
NAQT, IAC player
"Preparation is key"
Stats for my league at: lvqba.org
:party:
Krik? Krik?! KRIIIIK!!!
Rikku

Post by Krik? Krik?! KRIIIIK!!! »

Hi Russ! Elliot's right that perhaps the most "direct" way to learn about religion is right from the sources themselves. Even looking up summaries goes a long ways here. Especially at lower difficulty levels such as high school, a lot of the religion content is more "big picture" content about major religious figures, holidays, important traditions, core stories, etc.I strongly recommend going to qbreader, putting in 'Religion' in the question filter, then scrolling through the questions there. You'll see the same answerlines come up over and over and over again. Then from there, write down you see come up often, then read more about it so you can get a deeper knowledge. For instance, when I was in HS, I always heard questions on Yom Kippur but didn't know anything about it! So I read into it and was able to get questions early based on the clues I knew.