Kentucky Individual Championship

Dormant threads from the high school sections are preserved here.
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:55 pm

Kentucky Individual Championship

Post by Scottietodd »

The Kentucky Quiz Bowl Association (KQBA) is excited to announce our first ever Individual State Championship to be held at the University of Louisville on Sunday, March 3, 2019. We are having this event the day after the NAQT State Championship at U of L on Saturday, March 2, 2019 so that players can do both on one trip.

This tournament is for Kentucky students only, although we are planning an individual tournament open to players from other states to be held in the Lexington area on April 13, 2019.

The tournament will be run using the 2018-19 Scobol Solo. The format is still being determined but we are hoping to include multiple FUN opportunities including, but not limited to, one-on-one, subject area only, etc... We will award the top 5 (this may expand) overall individual players in Kentucky as well as other awards such as "Best Literature Player, Best RMP, etc....

The cost for registration will be $20 and students may register here: ... sp=sf_link

After registering, competitors may send their payment to:
8019 Broadfern Dr.
Louisville, KY 40291
Please make the check out to KQBA and be sure to note somewhere on the check the name of the person competing.

KQBA members will use data from this tournament to help determine our NASAT teams this year and all net funds collected for this tournament will be used to support our 2019 NASAT teams. (Data from the KIC will NOT be the only information used to select NASAT participants.)

Please continue to check back to this link for updates as, since this is our first time, there will be a few!

For questions, please email [email protected]

Current Field: (42)

Mason Reid - Glasgow
Trevor Wells - Woodford
Angus Maske - Dunbar
Henry Blyth - Dunbar
Jackson Jones - Eastern
Shashank Bhatt - Dunbar
Connor Akers - Woodford
Harrison Jenkins - Henderson
Grace Goff - Dunbar
Alfie Painter - Woodford
D.J. Banks - Henderson
Max Bograd - Dunbar
Sam Christensen - Central Hardin
Garrett Ashlock - Central Hardin
Emily Girard - Simon Kenton
Blake Martin - Owensboro
Zachary Aull - Owensboro
Lucy Raines - Owensboro
Marie Tapp - Owensboro
Kira Maxwell - Owensboro
Aneesh Kadambi - Dunbar
Keaton Martin - Woodford
Logan Coovert - Ashland Blazer
John Thomas - Ashland Blazer
Shalayna Rice - Ashland Blazer
Jake Powell - Dupont Manual
Andrew Kelley - Middlesboro
Robby Griffey - Middlesboro
Alex Chandler - Henderson
Andrew Ellis - Daviess
Alec Phelps - Daviess
Noah Owens - Daviess
Carter Bean - Daviess
Christian Vincent - Daviess
Murari Srinivasan - Dupont Manual
Claire Pinkston - Woodford
Will Kyle - Henderson
Ayog Prasad - Russell Ind
Jackson Raich - Russell Ind
J.T. Dials - Johnson Central
Brandon Fairchild - Johnson Central
Austin Cantrell - Johnson Central
Todd Garrison
Glasgow High School
Coach - 2012 to present
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2011 1:55 pm

Re: Kentucky Individual Championship

Post by Scottietodd »

Hello everyone.

I thought our first ever Individual Championship in Kentucky went well today! We had 36 students from across the state to compete, and I hope everyone had a good time.

Angus Maske of Dunbar defeated Shashank Bhatt, also of Dunbar to be named our first ever KIQBC champion.
Harrison Jenkins and DJ Banks, both from Henderson County finished 3rd and 4th respectively.

Emily Girard of Simon Kenton, Mason Reid of Glasgow, Max Bograd of Dunbar, and Garrett Ashlock of Central Hardin were the other quarterfinalists.

In our side events, DJ Banks won the Arts & Humanities, Shashank Bhatt won Science, Jake Powell won History, and Angus Maske won Literature.
Congratulations to all of you!
Todd Garrison
Glasgow High School
Coach - 2012 to present