Page 1 of 1

Mississippi NAQT State Championship 4/6/19

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:11 pm
by aeteacher
Tournament: 2019 State of Mississippi NAQT Championship

Tournament Director: Chris Johnson;; 662-862-3104

Location: Itawamba Agricultural High School, 11900 Hwy 25 South, Fulton, MS 38843

Question Set: IS-179 for varsity and junior varsity (JV teams must consist of only 10th – 6th grade students). Please make sure you have NOT played these questions this year (

Registration: Please e-mail intent to compete to the tournament director’s e-mail and attach a roster. The roster may be changed before the competition. With the roster, please state the student’s grade level. Registration Deadline- March 27th.

Format: The tournament is currently capped at 24 teams (18 varsity/6 JV) but may expand once more readers/volunteers for the tournament become available. It is a first-come first-served registration. All teams will compete in 5 randomly chosen games for seeding purposes which will then lead to ability-grouped round robins of 3 games. The top 4 teams (based on record and then ppg) will compete against each other for 1st- 4th place; the next 4 teams will compete against each other for 5th-8th and so on. This is designed to have everyone play similarly skilled teams at the end of the day for better overall competition.

Rules: The tournament will follow modified NAQT rules ( Basically, each game will consist of 20 total tossups with a halftime after the 10th. Bonuses will be earned by the team that correctly answers a tossup with no bounce-back for missed bonus questions. Teams should consist of no more than 6 students (teams may have as few as 1 student). Please get the permission of the tournament director to have more than 6 on a team. Substitutions may be made at the halftime or during a time-out (each team gets 1 per game). We will utilize powers and negs per standard NAQT practice. Individual stats will be kept throughout the tournament.

Cost: Entry per team is $75 with a $10 discount for teams driving more than 100 miles one way and a $5 discount for a working buzzer system. There will be a $10 discount for additional teams from a school.

**Please make checks out to Itawamba AHS with “Scholars Bowl” in the memo line. Also, please bring the check on the day of the competition and pay at registration.

Schedule: Registration 8-8:40; Coaches Meeting 8:45; Game 1-5 9:00- 12:00; Lunch 12-1:00; Rounds 6-8 1-3:00; Trophy/Medals presentations 3:00-3:30. To keep the tournament on schedule, we will sell pizza slices and drinks (as our tradition) at lunch for $5. We will have a hospitality room for coaches.

** The format and schedule are subject to change at the discretion of the tournament director based upon total number of competing teams and reader/volunteers availability.

Awards: Trophies for 1st-4th in varsity; 1st for junior varsity; medals for All-State Scholar (top 8 varsity; top 4 JV)

Past State Champions: 2018- Itawamba; 2017- Meridian; 2016- Brandon; 2015-2012- No champion; 2011- Madison Central; 2010- St. Andrew’s; 2009- MSMS

Re: Mississippi NAQT State Championship 4/6/19

Posted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 12:13 pm
by aeteacher
Varsity Registered Teams:
Itawamba A & B
Southaven A & B
Booneville A & B
Hamilton A
West Lauderdale A & B
Mantachie A
Meridian A
Caledonia A & B
Brandon A
Center Hill A & B
South Panola A
Ripley A

Junior Varsity Registered Teams:
Itawamba A & B
West Lauderdale A
Caledonia A
Pinebelt A
South Panola B
Hamilton B

Waiting List: