Page 1 of 1

Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 1:38 pm
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
Dear Coaches,

The University of Missouri Quizbowl Club is pleased to announce that we are planning on hosting our second annual Mort Walker Invitational on February 12th, 2011, named for the Mizzou alum and creator of Beetle Bailey. In our past two years, we have had the incredible fortune to be able to attract many of the very best teams in the state from both major cities and all places in between, so we hope to be able to offer you another chance to play many of this year’s most competitive teams.

We will be mirroring the questions written for the Governor's School Academic Competition, written by the Maggie Walker Governor's School team from Virginia. We will be using strict ACF rules, which means there will be 20 tossups worth 10 points per round, -5 penalties for interrupts, and non-rebounding 30-point bonuses.

Our tournament has been certified by the Missouri Quizbowl Alliance, a statewide group promoting high quality quizbowl. Criteria for certification include pyramidal questions, a guarantee of six rounds minimum per team, and other factors that MOQBA considers valuable for high quality quizbowl. Details on MOQBA and its certification procedures can be found online at

This tournament will be using a rule where each team can have a maximum of 6 players. If you have more than that, do not feel hesitant signing up an extra team so that every player gets more opportunities to participate in games.

The field will be capped at 18 teams, although if there is demand and space we will consider expansion of the field. Spaces will be allotted on a first-come, first-serve basis, determined by when you send our club account an email to register. We will form a waitlist, and if teams drop, we will proceed down the list in order. If the field fills, then we will be able to guarantee you a 10 game schedule, which we are very excited to offer your team to allow them to get increased playing time. The top teams will qualify for the 2011 PACE National Scholastics Championship at Northwestern University in Illinois.

Entry Fees
First team from a school: $70
Additional teams from the same school: $60
Buzzer system discount*: -$5 per system per team, up to $15 off.
Staffer discount: -$5 per team that brings a scorekeeper the morning of the tournament. This can be a coach, parent, or any other person attending who isn’t playing. We will provide the scorekeeper with a lunch.
* In order to receive the buzzer system discount, the system must be fully functional for 8 players.

To register, please email me at [email protected] with the name of your school, how many teams you wish to enter, and the best way to contact you with any questions.

Don't hesitate to respond early! We will work with you every step of the way, allay your concerns, and answer any questions you may have.

If you are interested in attending other tournaments at Mizzou, our campus will also be hosting the Missouri NAQT Qualifier tournament on March 5th and the 2011 Pre-Nationals Tournament and MOQBA Singles Championship on May 21.

We hope to see you in Columbia on February 12th!

Charles Dees
Co-Tournament Director

P.S. We would like to recommend that if you are interested in finding more practice material to prepare for our events, you check out, which is an archive of hundreds of high school packets.

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Wed Nov 17, 2010 6:52 pm
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
This field is full. Here is the current field:

Helias (2)
Jefferson City
Ladue (4)
North Kansas City
Parkway West (2)
Rock Bridge (2)

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:22 am
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
Wow, two spots left.

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 8:29 pm
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
Congratulations to Clayton, the champions of this year's Mort Walker Invitational, who defeated Ladue A for the championship. After the playoffs, they were tied with a 4-1 record, so they played a single game final which Clayton won 290-165. For third place, Jefferson City, North Kansas City, and Rock Bridge A were tied at 2-3, so after being seeded by playoff points per game, Rock Bridge beat NKC in a play-in game, and then Rock Bridge defeated Jefferson City 105-95 for the trophy. Note that the finals packets certainly ramped up the difficulty, so these are uncharacteristically low scores for these teams.

The top scorer awards went to Max Schindler from Ladue A, Ikshu Neithalath from Clayton, Sam Haynes from Jefferson City, Forrest Walker from North Kansas City, Haohang Xu from Ladue D, and Nick Vellios from Helias A.

Congratulations to these teams. I was most impressed with the play I saw, and I hope teams enjoyed this tournament as much as I enjoyed running it.

Statistics for the whole day are here -

I also recorded matches so when the set is cleared I will be posting links to recordings of all the games I read.

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:18 pm
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 7:40 pm
by Down and out in Quintana Roo
That's really impressive for two teams from this area to get more than 20ppb on this set. It's nice to see good quizbowl continuing to flourish in Missouri.

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:37 pm
by Frater Taciturnus
Carangoides ciliarius wrote:That's really impressive for two teams from this area to get more than 20ppb on this set. It's nice to see good quizbowl continuing to flourish in Missouri.
That sure is a thing good teams tend to do on high school sets!

Re: Mort Walker Invitational at MU (02/12/2011)

Posted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 1:06 pm
by Sen. Estes Kefauver (D-TN)
Now that the set is clear, here are audio recordings of all the rounds anyone interested can download.

Round 1: Rock Bridge B v. Tuscumbia -
Round 2: Helias A v. Parkway West -
Round 3: Helias B v. Rock Bridge A -
Round 4: Ladue Horton Watkins A v. Oakville -
Round 5: North Kansas City v. Savannah -
Round 6: Ladue Horton Watkins D v. Tuscumbia -
Round 7: Clayton v. Rock Bridge A -
Round 8: Helias B v. Oakville -
Round 9: North Kansas City v. Jefferson City -
Round 10: Oakville v. Parkway West B -
Round 11: Clayton v. Ladue Horton Watkins A (Finals) -
Round 12: Jefferson City v. Rock Bridge A (Third Place Game) -