How Do We Expand and Improve Our Writing Community?

A place to discuss topics affecting quizbowlers as a community rather than quizbowl as a game.
csa2125
Lulu

How Do We Expand and Improve Our Writing Community?

Post by csa2125 »

Sparked of course by the recent Discord panel discussing diversity and inclusion in quizbowl question creation, I spoke to some other community members about this issue, and realized it needs its own post so we can get more voices in on this topic.

I believe we should have a larger, more diverse writing and editing community for the health of the game and the quality of questions. How we can achieve this goal, I’m not an expert on. The need for more diverse voices and more prepared writers more generally suggests to me that we create a quizbowl writing community Discord or the like, alongside better writing resources, such that it is easier to get into and stay in the “writing community.”

Let me illustrate with an example:

There is some extent to which we cannot entirely erase the fact that, even with open calls, connections get you places in life and in quizbowl set production. If I want A to write for my tournament, but A doesn’t apply, A simply won’t be writing for the tournament. I can directly ask A, and A might join that way if something about the open call format prevents A from feeling qualified or needed as a writer. But if I don’t even know A would be available or a great writer, I won’t know to ask A in the first place. Further, if A actually isn’t qualified, then the feeling of being unqualified is right, and we shouldn’t pressure A to write when A doesn’t have the necessary skill set.

Three problems seem to be central to this, in my view:
1) If I want a member of group X to write for my set, and there are not many members of group X in quizbowl, it will hard to find someone who is from group X in quizbowl AND willing and prepared to write.