Remember the '90s?

Tell your tales of bygone days and rank historical things here.
A Dim-Witted Saboteur
Yuna

Remember the '90s?

Post by A Dim-Witted Saboteur »

As a youth, I enjoy hearing stories about quiz bowl in the 1990s (and, to a lesser extent, the early 2000s) a lot. I can gather some things from reading QBWiki and old threads, but I think a thread specifically about it might be interesting and beneficial. If you were around in the 90s, what was playing QB then like? What was the community in general like? How did various circuits look different? Who were the major personalities/teams and what were they like?
Jakob M. (they/them)
Michigan State '21, Indiana '2?
"No one has ever organized a greater effort to get people interested in pretending to play quiz bowl"
-Ankit Aggarwal
Scipio
Wakka

Re: Remember the '90s?

Post by Scipio »

Wow, how long do you have?

In 1993, when I started playing, CBI was the dominant format; far fewer teams played ACF (the Academic Competition FOUNDATION) than CBI. NAQT didn't exist; so, all (academic) tournaments were either

a) Official CBI (Regionals, Nationals)
b) Official ACF (Regionals, Nationals)
c) Invitational m(odelled on, modified)-CBI (questions written by teams, and played by CBI rules)
d) Invitational m-ACF (questions written by teams, and played by ACF rules).

[There were also Trash tournaments, which - in my limited experience - followed ACF rules, but obviously not its subject)