Ensuring future team success?

Old college threads.
SpanishSpy
Wakka

Ensuring future team success?

Post by SpanishSpy »

Hi all,

I'm Alex Wallace, graduate of Washington-Lee High School in Arlington, Virginia in 2015 and current sophomore at the College of William & Mary. To make a long story short, I joined the W&M team last year, where I shared a year with our departing greats Sean Smiley, Chris Miller, and Alex Frey, with whom I competed at UNC and VCU in 2015.

However, as I said, they are departing greats, and now they have gone off into the world. Now, the W&M Quizbowl team is run by a troika of James Cole, the captain, Ben Bechtold, and myself, and we have several good new people (some of you might have seen them at the novice tournament UVA hosted on September 10th, where our A team took 3rd and our B team took 6th - I personally came in 9th of all players).

This is my first time really running the College club - 2014-2015 I was a lackluster high school captain that only brought the team to It's Academic and couldn't muster enough interest to go to anything hosted by the VHSL (this was different from years past where other, better captains did a few where I competed). Currently, we practice three nights a week (I only can make two, as can James) and are writing a high school packet for a tournament we want to host by the end of the academic year.

We've lost our greats, and so the joking slogan we use now is "make quizbowl great again." Hence, I would like to ask you good people with experience and savvy, what do I need to do to ensure that this team is successful for the next three years and the years after that?
Alex Wallace
Washington-Lee High School Class of 2015
College of William & Mary Class of 2019
The Stately Rhododendron
Rikku

Re: Ensuring future team success?

Post by The Stately Rhododendron »

Don't quote Donald Trump as a joke, for one.
IKD
Yale 18
Oakland Mills 14
"I am the NAQT beast I worship."
naan/steak-holding toll
Auron