Page 1 of 1

2022 ACF Regionals at Nebraska

Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2021 12:18 pm
by Mrauhauser
I am pleased to announce that the overflow site of 2022 ACF Regionals will be held at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln on Saturday, January 29, 2022.

The tournament will take place on Zoom. The opening meeting will begin at 8:45 a.m. CST and gameplay will begin at 9:00 a.m. CST. Madeleine Rauhauser will be the tournament director. Please direct any questions about this site to me at [email protected].

In general, teams where players are all attending the same school and all taking at least one class for credit during the 2021–2022 school year are eligible to play 2022 ACF Regionals. ACF’s full eligibility rules are available here. Questions about eligibility should be directed to [email protected].

This tournament will follow ACF’s official gameplay rules. Rules specifically pertaining to online tournaments have been rendered in blue.

Fill out the central 2022 ACF Regionals registration form with all relevant information. The form is here. The field for each site can be found here.

If possible, teams should register for the site that is geographically closest to them and/or is in the region they would normally attend. The field cap is 18 teams, after which teams will be placed on a waitlist or potentially assigned to another site. Please register by January 24, 2022.
  • Base fee: $150
  • New to quizbowl discount: −$100
  • Shorthanded discount (1–2 players): −$75
  • Travel discount: −$10 per 200 miles traveled one-way {in-person only}
  • Buzzers: −$10 per functional buzzer system {in-person only}
  • Staffers: −$15 per staffer with a functional laptop. Staffers must register with ACF in advance by filling out this form.
The new to quizbowl discount is intended for schools that have not sent a team to any mainstream collegiate academic tournament (not counting exclusively novice tournaments) since September 2020, and which have no players who competed in non-novice collegiate tournaments during that same period.

Packet Submission
Any team with at least two people on it who played a regular, collegiate, academic quizbowl tournament* (either as a college student or high school student) prior to September 1, 2020, is required to submit a half-packet. Please email [email protected] if you are unsure whether your team is required to submit a half-packet. A team that is not required to submit a packet may submit an optional packet by the no-penalty deadline for a $50 discount.

* For these purposes, all ACF tournaments, NAQT SCT (Division I or Division II), NAQT ICT, and typical college-level academic invitationals count as regular collegiate academic tournaments. Pop culture or “hybrid” tournaments, HCASC, and tournaments played on NAQT’s Collegiate Novice series sets do not.

Here is the submission schedule:
  • November 16, 2021: −$50
  • November 28, 2021: −$25
  • December 12, 2021: no penalty
  • January 2, 2022: +$25
  • January 9, 2022: +$50
After January 9, 2022, teams will be required to pay an additional $10 per day their packet is late. Teams that have not submitted a packet by January 16, 2022 will be dropped from the tournament, with no exceptions.

If your team is going to submit a half-packet, whether required or not, email [email protected] to request a distribution. All finished packets must be sent to that email before 11:59 Pacific time on the day listed to receive the discount or penalty. Please format the half-packet in .doc or .docx before sending it. The email subject line should list the name of the school, the team number (if applicable), and the words “half-packet.”

User was reminded to enable a signature. --Mgmt.

Re: 2022 ACF Regionals at Nebraska

Posted: Sat Jan 29, 2022 11:00 pm
by Mrauhauser
Thank you to everyone who attended our mirror and to all of the staffers who made this run smoothly, with a special shoutout to Audrey Anderson for handling stats. Stanford took first place after an advantaged final against Columbia A. The first place undergraduate team was Claremont Colleges. Statistics are posted here: ... standings/

Congratulations again to the winning teams!